Home / Faculty Development / Faculty leaves and sabbaticals

Faculty leaves and sabbaticals

Academic development leaves allow faculty to devote concentrated time to studies, investigations, research, scholarly writing, and artistic projects.  Such leaves may also be used for curriculum development and other improvements in teaching practice.


Faculty are eligible for a single semester leave after two academic years of service (probationary faculty) or after four academic years of service (tenured faculty).   A faculty member is entitled to a sabbatical leave after six years of academic service, with review and scheduling at the department/collegiate levels and approval of the dean. Sabbatical leaves for contract faculty are awarded on the basis of service, review within the department and college, and availability of funds.

Applicable Policies

Policy governing faculty development leaves are defined by Regents Policy: Employee Development, Education, and Training.

Administrative procedures can be found in Granting Faculty Development Leaves.

Application Forms

Faculty sabbatical form

Single semester leave form

Faculty Sabbatical Supplement Program

The Faculty Sabbatical Supplement Program provides supplemental funds to academic units to support sabbaticals and development leaves for recommended faculty. A portion of this central fund is allocated to each college and campus based on its proportion of the University’s tenured faculty. This program provides funds to supplement up to the lesser of 30% or $30,000 of the A- or B-base salary (not including fringe) for faculty who are recommended to receive this benefit. Salary supplement funds must be matched by 1/3 using college or campus resources.

Sabbatical supplements are awarded using criteria and procedures established by each college and coordinate campus. Faculty seeking this supplemental award should contact the dean, director, or chancellor of their academic unit.