Home >> Faculty Development >> Academy of Distinguished Teachers

Academy of Distinguished Teachers

Established in 1999 by then-president Mark Yudof, the Academy of Distinguished Teachers (ADT) is an organization through which its members provide important leadership to the University community, serving as mentors, advisers, and spokespersons for the University’s teaching mission. 

The members of the Academy of Distinguished Teachers are those who have been recognized by either of two University-wide annual award programs: the Horace T. Morse-University of Minnesota Alumni Association Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education, and the Award for Outstanding Contributions to Graduate and Professional Education.  The undergraduate teaching award has been in place since 1965, and the graduate-professional award since 1999. ADT members may be affiliated with any credential-granting program on any campus, and may be either faculty or professional and administrative (P&A) employees. Recipients of the Morse-Alumni and the Graduate-Professional Teaching awards are given the designation of Distinguished University Teaching Professor (faculty) or Distinguished University Teacher (P&A) throughout their careers at the University of Minnesota. Information about these awards is available at http://www.scholarswalk.umn.edu/awards/aoce/index.html 

Executive Committee

The current members of the ADT Executive Committee are:

Ken Leopold (chair), Twin Cities                     kleopold@umn.edu

Nancy Carpenter, Morris                                carpenne@morris.umn.edu

Soo-Yin Lim-Thompson, Crookston               slimthom@crk.umn.edu

Bob Poch, Twin Cities                                     pochx001@umn.edu

Steve Sternberg, Duluth                                 ssternbe@d.umn.edu

Current Membership

A list of current ADT members is available here.

Upcoming Activities

The biennial ADT-sponsored conference, Good Stress, Bad Stress, and the Teaching-Learning Relationship, open to all University educators, staff and graduate students, will take place on Thursday, April 27, 2017, from 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM at the McNamara Alumni Center. To register for the conference, go to https://goo.gl/forms/8l7UmWKU2JerfROF2 

Recent Activities

2016 Retreat

The biennial ADT retreat took place Friday, September 23 to Sunday, September 25, 2016 at Ruttgers Bay Lake Lodge, in Deerwood, Minnesota. The theme of the retreat was: Student Mental Health and Wellness: So We Can Teach and They Can Learn.  

ADT Luncheons

April 17, 2017 member lunch with Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs, Rebecca Ropers-Huilman, David Langley (CEI), Jane O'Brien (CEI) and Annette McNamara (ATSS) on Peer Review of Teaching, 237 Morrill Hall.

March 16, 2017 member lunch with Donnalee Attardo, OIT Academic Technology, on The Future of Moodle,117/119 Smith Hall.

December 5, 2016 member lunch with Scott Lanyon, Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School on the topic of Addressing Challenges in Graduate Education, 303 Appleby Hall.

October 24, 2016 member lunch with Gary Christenson, Chief Medical Officer at Boynton Health, on the topic of Student Mental Health, 303 Appleby Hall.

March 1, 2016 member lunch with Rebecca Ropers-Huilman, the new Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs.

October 13, 2015 member lunch with Allen Levine,  interim Vice Provost for Faculty and Academic Affairs.

For further information about ADT or its activities:

Chris Bremer      Faculty and Academic Affairs           breme006@umn.edu

Jane O’Brien       Center for Educational Innovation    janeob@umn.edu

Office Address
110 Morrill Hall
100 Church Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455

For general inquiries, call 612-626-9545 or email vpfaa@umn.edu